New Award: Jean-Luc Hainaut

Recognized for his fundamental contributions to both principles and practice in data modeling, database design, data reverse engineering, and data-focused systems evolution.

Press Release:  HTML   PDF

"Data Matters Most:
But where has all the
semantics gone?

Jean-Luc Hainaut
University of Namur, Institut d'Informatique

Wednesday, 5 February 2014, 13:30
22nd Stevens Lecture

"Software Evolution Week"
Universiteit of Antwerpen
venue: Hof van Liere, Prinstraat 13
Antwerp, Belgium

The Stevens Award

The international Stevens Award was created to recognize outstanding contributions to the literature or practice of methods for software and systems development.

The Stevens Lecture on Software Development Methods presentations focus on lessons learned and challenges, with an emphasis on advancing or analyzing the state of software methods and their direction for the future.

Wayne Stevens

This prestigious award lecture is named in memory of Wayne Stevens (1944-1993), a highly-respected consultant, author, pioneer, and advocate of the practical application of software methods and tools.

His 1974 IBM Systems Journal article "Structured Design" was the first published on the topic and has been widely reprinted. Stevens was the author of the books: Software Design: Concepts and Methods (Prentice-Hall Intl, 1991) and Using Structured Design (Wiley, 1981). His last article "Data Flow Analysis and Design" appears in the Encyclopedia of Software Engineering (Wiley, 1994). Stevens was the chief architect of application development methodology for IBM's consulting group.

Managing Sponsor

The Stevens Award and lecture is managed by the Reengineering Forum (REF) industry association. The award was founded by IWCASE, an international workshop association of users and developers of Computer Aided Software Engineering (CASE) technology, recently merged into REF. Stevens was a member of the IWCASE executive board.

For further information, contact: